My Tiny Thoughts

Just another WordPress.com weblog

90-year-old in 8mph mobility scooter


PD*27222621

 

90-year-old in 8mph mobility scooter takes wrong turn and ends up on dual carriageway.

All Stanley Murphy wanted when he popped out on his mobility scooter was to pick up a newspaper from his local shop.

But the 90-year-old took one wrong turning and ended up on a busy dual carriageway with cars and lorries thundering past him at speed.

Safely back home, Mr Murphy said: “I went out to get a paper and took a wrong turning. I don’t know how I ended up on the A27 but I’m thankful to everyone who helped me.”

PC Jim Lockwood, who drove Mr Murphy home, said: “I would like to thank the members of the public who stopped to help.

“I would also like to thank the driver who put his flashing lights on to prevent the incident worsening and who helped deliver the old gent’s scooter to his home address.”

A spokesman said it was unlikely police would take the matter further.

February 27, 2009 - Posted by | People

No comments yet.

Leave a comment